Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.8 5)
37 VE 70: Resistance, Occupation & Liberation
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. B.E.S.T.D.A.Y.O.F.M.Y.L.I.F.E.!.

    How can I rate this trip out of five, when I want to give it a seven? This trip gave me the opportunity to discover myself as well as the history surrounding those European landmarks. May 5th, Wageningen. Proudest I have ever been to be Canadian. Maybe because of the large store of veterans? Maybe because my idol and hero from the Second World War was there? Or maybe because a man approached me and my friends, buying us a Coca-cola as a token of gratitude from the Dutch to the Canadians. This man shared a heart-felt story of his father's experiences as a Dutch boy during the war, even witnessing his best friend's murder by the Nazis. This man slipped into the crowd before we even heard his name. This appreciation, and this love, also compares to that of my feelings on Juno Beach. Standing on the beach, I closed my eyes, stood away from the group, and listened to the waves. Whether you are religious or not, everyone, if they paused and stood eyes closed for a moment, could feel the spirits. Energy all around us, fountains of tears streamed from my face, and i stood unashamed as a shared in the remembrance of Canada's history. Where Canada first stood as it's own. Thankyou EF TOURS, this is why every day, not just Remembrance Day, I Remember.
    Bridg / Student traveller
    Uxbridge, Ontario / Posted on December 03, 2010
  2. Everything We Had Hoped For

    This was such a great trip for our son. It was so much more than just site-seeing. His student group did research on local war veterans from our area and represented them at each of the official functions. For our son (a WWII history buff) this was the perfect trip and confirmed that he had selected the right post-secondary program. He is enrolled in International Development Studies at St. Mary's University.

    As parents we were really pleased with the organization and coordination between EF Tours and our high school. This is our second experience with EF Tours (our daughter went to England two years ago) and they really know how to put together a comprehensive and meaningful experience for high school students.
    2188 / Parent
    Maberly, Ontario / Posted on December 03, 2010
  3. Proud to be a Canadian

    This tour started off great with a tourist aspect of Paris. We had time to wander into the Latin Quarter, Museé Dorsey, go up the Eiffel Tower, cruise the Seine, as well as the guided tour of the city and Versailles.
    The next leg showed us what is was like to be a Canadian in another country. Touring the battle sites and cemeteries helped to bring it home to the students what happened so many years ago and how it is still an important part of, not only our history, but our life.
    As we moved on to the sites of Beaumont Hamel and Vimy Ridge, you realized the scope of what went on so many years ago. Some of us had family who participated and survived both wars, but alas, some who did not. The evening ceremony at the Menin Gate was special for this.
    On to the Netherlands. What a great few days. The 65th Liberation of the Netherlands. We had Kayla speak at Holten cemetery, students carry our flag in the parade in Wageningen, a student lay a wreath in Appledoorn, the boys carrying the flag at the Tattoo. Many trips and sites of Amsterdam, Vuirthoozen. Katie and I(with my wife) did side trips on separate days to visit with new found friends and to visit uncles gone in WWII.
    Historic sites, food, events, making new friends, laughter, mixed with sadness, but also a strong sense of pride. I was and am proud to be a Canadian. For what they did before us and what we do to keep the memory alive. We stated to the students that they would come back changed. We all did and are better for it. Thanks to EF for providing us with that opportunity.
    magicman / Group leader
    Thompson, Manitoba / Posted on December 02, 2010
  4. A trip rich in history and pride!

    My daughter has been a sea cadet since she was 12 yrs old, so attending parades and Veteran activities is second nature to her. However, she found the events she attended on this trip, deeply moved her. In meeting with a veteran in Holland, his sincerity and out pouring of emotion brought my daughter to tears in a wave of emotion. She learned more about history, was able to walk on the same roads she read about in books, and she had fun. We are both so pleased that we took the opportunity of this trip.
    Fergie / Parent
    Midland, Ontario / Posted on January 09, 2011
  5. Bringing History to life!

    Our trip took us to the following WWI and WWII Canadian war sites; Vimy Ridge, Beaumont-Hamel, Flanders, Essex Farm, Juno Beach and the Netherlands, which was the main focus of this trip. The added value of these trips is that we participate in the rememberance ceremonies with all of the veterans and local citizens of the Netherlands not just watch. The students get to talk to the vets and gain the experience of the personal interaction and the emotional stories not just read at text. We all get the opportunity to walk in the footsteps of our vets and to understand in tactile way a little of what they did. One of the highlights of our trip was visiting Essex Farm in Belgium, the location of John McCrae's hospital and the name sake of our school. We had our own ceremony on the actual anniversary of the writing of the poem "Flanders Fields" by John McCrae for his friend. What an experience!
    CanadianBacon / Group leader
    Ottawa, Ontario / Posted on December 14, 2010
  6. BreathTaking

    I had no idea at first what europe would be like, Rest assured it was a Blast !! The only complaint i have is just times for waking up. But they're is always a price to pay for this much Fun !!! The tour guide was amazing, full of laughs, and a great accent.
    Damian / Student traveller
    Port Perry,Ontario / Posted on December 12, 2010
  7. absolutely fantastic

    the trip was absolutely incredible, i thoroughly enjoyed ever minute of it, since im in the army i was really taken back by the feats that our soldiers did, it was breath taking, this trip was also where my fiancee and i started to date, the trip was a little rushed though, i would have loved to stay there alot longer, but i keep checking the site to get ideas for my next trip overseas, thank you so much for offering this trip.

    OCdt Schwantz.
    armyboy / Student traveller
    live in winnipeg, took trip in thompson MB. / Posted on December 10, 2010
  8. Amazing Memories!

    Overall, I loved the trip and I have so many great memories of it. I made tons of new friends from the group we were travelling with and I loved seeing all the sights in Paris. Some things that I didn't like were that we wouldn't get back to the hotels until very late some nights, so I was exhausted through certain parts of the tour and even slept through a river tour and a bus tour. I also didn't like that on a few days, we were given cheese and ham sandwiches. Not only were they gross, but I don't eat ham so I went hungry for a few hours. Other than those things, the trip was fantastic!
    zombietulip / Student traveller
    Thompson, Mantioba / Posted on December 09, 2010
  9. Breath Taking

    This tour was everything I had hoped it would be when I first signed up and more. It was based mostly in history and gave me an entirely new perspective and experience that I never could have gotten without it. Everywhere we stayed was great and we had a brilliant bus driver who at one point had to drive backwards down a narrow, winding street and didn't get one scratch. The only issue we experienced was that our tour guide was really focused on meeting time restrictions, which is her job, of course. However we felt that paying respects in cemeteries and talking to veterens was more important. Overall I am thrilled with the tour I went on.
    Lilo5 / Student traveller
    Barrie, Ontario / Posted on December 08, 2010
  10. Once in a life time

    This was truly a once in a life time experience for our daughter. It seemed to have been the perfect mix of history, culture and fun. OF course, aside from it being her first real exposure to countires so different from her own, the historical aspects of the World Wars and just how devestating they were on countries and people; all the while remewing a ture sense of Canadian pride in our role.
    aFather / Parent
    Ottawa, ON / Posted on December 07, 2010

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?