Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 5)
40 Culture and Service in Ecuador
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
  1. Adventurer in the making!

    Not having experienced this level of travel as youths, we were anxious, yet excited to send our son for a nine day tour of Ecuador, included a service project in the Amazon Basin. His stories of the trip have been interesting, life changing, funny and something we will cherish forever. Having no phones was an extra bonus and he used our old digital camera to capture some amazing sights. He's ready to go on another one - his adventurous soul is now set in stone.
    JAMOR / Student traveller
    Atlanta, GA / Posted on April 11, 2019
  2. Great trip

    My son and I had a great trip experiencing the amazon basin and the local culture.
    SteveL / Adult traveller
    Grosse Ile, Michigan / Posted on June 29, 2019
  3. Breathtaking opportunity

    A trip of a lifetime. The experience and bonding between people i would have never thought I could have. Brought everyone out of their comfort zone. We worked as a community not as one.
    Alihowell / Student traveller
    Prince George British Columbia Canada / Posted on June 03, 2019
  4. It was an Amazing experience and a great tour!

    This trip was amazing, I would recommend to someone and this trip makes me want to go again and experience the same thing but on the coast of Ecuador. The volunteer experience was hard but it was worth it, our group got to build a school for a community in need in the Amazon rainforest. The experience of the cities, food, etc. was the best, it was so interesting to know about and tell other people who want to go on a similar tour about the experience you encountered. Overall it was magnifying and the best trip I have ever gone to.
    tour2 / Student traveller
    Asheville, NC / Posted on May 30, 2019
  5. The Amazing Amazon

    The Me to We trip to Ecuador was the most amazing experience! The people of Ecuador were so warm and welcoming and happy to share their amazing culture with us. Visiting Quito really took us back in time as we toured the beautiful architecture. But, the three days in the Amazon Rainforest were the best three days of my life! The diversity is beyond comprehension and the animal / insect symphony that put us to sleep each night must be experienced. The two days working in the village on the Me to We project and interacting with the local children was priceless and will stick with me the rest of my life. South America must be experienced at least once in your lifetime!
    CanadianTeacher19 / Group leader
    Williams Lake, BC / Posted on April 01, 2019
  6. Experience of a lifetime

    This tour was an amazing way to see different lifestyles unfold before your very own eyes. It was an awesome way to meet new friends that shared the same experience with you!
    Dttg / Parent
    Springfield, OH / Posted on June 24, 2018
  7. Service Learning Adventures in Ecuador

    We loved our service learning trip in Ecuador. Everything was wonderful--the food, the balance of cultural experience and service, and of course the natural beauty of the country! Our tour director and service coordinators were all absolutely wonderful with our students, and we would certainly request them for future trips. The only "negative" feedback was that we spent some long days on the bus between stops. We tried to break travel days up with stops, but it was still a lot of travel time. We all realize that EF can't put the sites closer together or build better roads...so that's just the reality of the places we visited.

    Our trip included two days of service at the Minga Lodge in the Amazon on a nine-day trip. On reflection, we all would like to have done a little more service and either extended the overall trip (first option) or cut out/down another leg of the experience.

    I would highly recommend this trip to those with an adventurous spirit!
    JungleTraveler / Adult traveller
    Chicago, IL / Posted on June 20, 2018
  8. Wonderful

    It was the best time I ever had. I got along with the Tour Director and with the other group that came along with us. I loved when we helped people and got to learn about them. I also loved how I got to learn about the past in Ecuador and how it affected their lives. I got to learn more about myself and got to learn about who I am and what I plan to do in the future.
    Lala2020 / Student traveller
    Getna, Ne / Posted on June 12, 2018
  9. Amazing Experience!

    Everything about the tour was wonderful. Some minor complaints are that my high school group was with a middle school group. Whenever we did the Me to We group exercises, my students and myself were extremely annoyed with the difference in maturity. Other than the nightly activities, there was not a problem with the different grade levels. My group was able to really bond.
    travelislife33 / Group leader
    Avon Lake, OH / Posted on April 25, 2017
  10. Great tour with surprises

    I had a great time on this tour. We saw multiple parts of Ecuador - the Amazon, cloud forest, mountain adventure town, cities, volcanoes, indigenous towns. We travel a lot, and my son and I both think it was one of the top 5 trips we have taken in our life. We were very well fed and housed. The two Ecuadorian guides EF supplied us with were absolutely top notch. They were with us every step of the way, whether it was giving detailed information on the flora or fauna of Ecuador or getting up at 1 am to go to the emergency room with a sick teen. Thanks to Delta Airlines, we got stranded four extra days in Ecuador. EF continued to support us, providing us with a second tour guide and continuing to pay for day tours and meals. They also bought entirely new plane tickets on different airlines for us to get home after it was clear Delta was not going to get us home for a week. Value was excellent because I was there for almost 2 weeks! I highly recommend this tour, although you do have to realize you are headed to basically a Third World country so things might happen, like you get stranded for four extra days. That's the only reason I am not giving it a five star rating, because I think you need to be a little adventurous to enjoy this trip.
    Parent1106 / Adult traveller
    Boise, ID / Posted on April 20, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?