Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 5)
78 Rome: the Eternal City
5 stars
56
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
  1. Monuments Galore!

    This is my third trip with EF Tours and I look forward to many more. This trip to Rome, Sorrento, Pompeii and Capri was unforgettable. Wow, Rome has amazing ruins and it’s so impressive how they are all accessible and maintained. I appreciate how EF Tours tries to get the best hotel situation possible as that could be a deal breaker for me if the accommodations are subpar. I also appreciate the attempt at good food. Always a pleasure and I appreciate all the work that goes into these tours!
    Fizzy / Adult traveller
    Temecula, CA / Posted on April 09, 2018
  2. Amazing Rome!

    This trip was amazing! The pace was great-just the right mix of guided tours and free time. Felt safe the entire time-even ventured out with my group at night for an evening gelato-every night! Plan to take this tour again and bring the rest of my family.
    / Group leader
    Mt. Washington, KY / Posted on April 24, 2017
  3. Spiritual Awakening

    This was my first international trip and I was not quite sure what to expect. What I experienced was life-changing. Seeing the magnificence of the Vatican in person and the glory that was Rome-I was in awe. I will definitely go back again, this time with my whole family. I highly recommend this tour to others who maybe timid about traveling abroad-don't be!
    / Adult traveller
    Mt. Washington, KY / Posted on April 24, 2017
  4. Once in a life time

    Never thought I would travel outside the United States much less travel to Rome. It was amazing and I'll never forget it. The Colosseum was my favorite. Then we took a trip to Florence. Got to take the train which was another first. Fell in love with Florence as well did my Mom. Would love to go back. My Grandfathers family is from Italy so I got to see and go where they once did. There is just one thing I wished I did. I wish I had written down all the places we ate dinner at so I could add it to my list of places we were at.
    CHazel14 / Student traveller
    Louisville Ky. / Posted on April 19, 2017
  5. Great way to experience Rome!

    The central location on this itinerary offered so many more opportunities than normal. Instead of leaving after dinner to drive to our hotel, we could explore the city at night to experience true Roman culture. The crowds were smaller and the locals were out and about to dine and talk with their friends. My students loved being able to walk to the sites and not have to wait on a bus to pick us up. Overall, this was an incredible trip.
    MSPrincipal / Group leader
    Simpsonville, KY / Posted on April 10, 2017
  6. Dream Come True

    Incredible, incredible, incredible. Loved the EF Tour Guide. Patrizia was a wealth of knowledge, positive and upbeat, was fun and fast passed which allowed us to pack in as much as we possibly could. The hotel was exceptional and the entire experience worth every cent. First time out of the country and Rome motivated me to see Italy again and again. Where else on earth can you experience so much ancient history, the churches the beautiful country side. I could not get enough and hated to leave. Thank you EF for the experience of a lifetime!
    MissyD / Adult traveller
    SOUTHAVEN, MS / Posted on March 20, 2017
  7. Not the experience I paid for

    To start I understand this trip was designed for middle school students and not adults. however, after 3 long days of “walking” tours and passing by awesome quaint shops and amazing scenery we couldn’t experience, the kids were laying in the dirty street with any history lesson going right over their heads.
    The food was not good. Felt budgeted. The cooking class was in a Holiday Inn basement and no cooking at all. We cut pasta! Which was neat, but could have been actual cooking. And our last meal was served in the Holiday Inn banquet room. Our hotel was far away from any action and to get anywhere we’d have to walk “just a bit” which was typically 2 or more miles. Lots of waking, on cobblestone uneven pavement. Could have used more down time to do as we want, less walking tours, better food to experience wonderful Italian cuisine. If we had two more days and more free time it would have been better. Saw everything there is to see but I gaurentee the kids don’t recall much of what they learned because it was so rushed. I wanted to experience a memorable trip for my daughter and myself so that I did. It was nice to get in all the sites without standing in line. Florence was a joke. It took longer to get there than we were there and spent majority of time on another walking tour. All in all, I’m glad I went. I met some wonderful people and did get to see a part of the world I never have. I’d say just to revamp the tours so you can have more time to enjoy the scenery and not feel rushed and information overload.
    KellyAnne / Adult traveller
    Rome, Italy / Posted on July 12, 2018
  8. Italy, But Without The Great Food

    It was a wonderful experience and tour of Italy with a wonderful tour director. Everything was wonderful except the dinners. They were boring, we had a plain pasta in red sauce on three occasions, and the last three dishes all had pees. I would have enjoyed to sample the Italian culture and maybe eat at some less American friendly places or foods that the Italians are renowned for.
    Jase / Student traveller
    Collinsville, IL / Posted on June 27, 2018
  9. Just OK

    Educational part of the tour was good, however the accommodations and meals were below average. The best part of the trip was Pompeii and Capri because there is beautiful but the Sorrento's hotel was awful. I paid too much money for this trip and I was expecting for amazing experince but honestly I feel very disappointed.
    Alligator18 / Student traveller
    Boston MA / Posted on June 26, 2018
  10. Rewarding Experience

    My EF trip to Rome was wonderful. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and very organized. It was a great experience.
    ZK18 / Adult traveller
    Posted on May 18, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?