Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.6 5)
425 Japan: Land of the Rising Sun
5 stars
307
4 stars
94
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
6
  1. Wonderful Adventure!

    My son felt inspired on his trip to Japan. He loved the wide variety of beautiful and interesting sites and experiences the group visited. He tried adventurous new street foods, saw things that were entirely new to him, and learned some history and culture. It seemed like the right amount of supervision for a 16-year old--he enjoyed having some free time, but felt self and well taken care of with the way the trip was structured. We would recommend EF to others!
    NYC61 / Parent
    New York, NY / Posted on April 28, 2019
  2. A dream come true!

    I have always wanted to visit Japan, but I didn't think it would be financially possible until I heard about EF tours! It opened an amazing door for me and for the students on the trip. There was so much to see and do, we learned so much! My students even pointed things out to me they had learned in my science class! Like the bullet train that ran on electromagnets, and the nuclear reactions used in power plants and weapons! I was really proud that they were able to relate school topics to this trip, and they did it without me even asking them to!
    Suzune / Adult traveller
    Pasco, WA / Posted on April 10, 2019
  3. One of the best tours yet!

    This tour was incredible for so many reasons! First, we were able to experience many aspects of Japanese history and culture. Kyoto gave us the "old" Japan, Hakone gave us the opportunity to engage in traditional Japanese culture and Tokyo gave us the modern Japan. Our TD was one of the best I've worked with in my 9 tours. So well organized and so many opportunities to learn new things about the country.
    JSKS / Group leader
    Olathe, KS / Posted on March 19, 2019
  4. Lifechanging

    This experience has shaped me completely for the better. I felt home here on this tour. It has inspired me beyond words to continue living to see all of Japan. I recommend this trip to anyone looking for a down-to-earth, peaceful, absolutely breath-taking experience.
    lenkualli / Student traveller
    Newburgh, Indiana / Posted on August 23, 2018
  5. Awesome adventure in Japan!

    Japan: Land of the Rising Sun itinerary is jam-packed with cultural experiences! Every day was an adventure - new foods, new phrases in Japanese, and a peek at cultural traditions in a different part of the world. This itinerary has a little bit of everything for the travelers. We had plenty of shopping time, visits to Castles and religious shrines, and culinary treats galore. Our highlights included: a lecture with a professional Sumo wrestler, visit to the Great Buddha in Kamakura and Nara, a Kimono fashion show, and most of all a traditional night at a ryokan and a visit to see Mt. Fuji. If you are looking for a destination that is exciting and educational, this is the itinerary for you!
    cc1226 / Group leader
    Cincinnati, Ohio / Posted on June 10, 2018
  6. Japan; my land of the rising sun

    The trip was amazing. Even the bus rides were fun! The tour guides were all nice, and very helpful, especially the Hiroshima survivor who led us through Hiroshima. I loved going to the temples and shrines, especially the one in Nara with the deer; that was really fun. All the new foods were great too!

    The people and the culture was amazing, and I'll definitely go back some day!
    Yuki / Student traveller
    Whitby, Ontario / Posted on December 02, 2010
  7. amazing experience

    my son attended the japan trip and it educated him so much about the culture that he is attending university next fall and enrolling in the culinary program. From there he plans to move to Japan to study Japanese cuisine. Thank you so much for allowing our children these wonderful oppertunities
    seriouslyyellow / Parent
    Kamloops, BC / Posted on December 02, 2010
  8. Great cultural exposure and education

    EF did a great job planning sites and sights to see. I do feel that we could have skipped a couple of the shrines/temples to allow us to spend more time walking around the the smaller towns, especially Kamakura.
    Our guide was amazing. She was so knowledgeable about her country and culture and so willing to share both.
    Educational1 / Adult traveller
    Lihue, Hawaii / Posted on July 20, 2019
  9. Great Time

    Amazing experience. We saw and did so much in 11 days. Definitely should be on everyone's bucket list.
    AJSF / Adult traveller
    Warsaw, IN / Posted on July 16, 2019
  10. Amazing Japan Trip

    We just returned from Japan. It was phenomenal. Couldn't have asked for a better time. We saw and experienced so much. We will definately be using EF again next year, We are already looking forward to the next trip to Australia.
    BaseballCoach / Adult traveller
    Midland, Texas / Posted on July 16, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?