Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 5)
121 Holocaust in Europe
5 stars
86
4 stars
33
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
  1. Exciting and Educational in one

    The trip throughout Central Europe touched on very emotional places and events but was done in such a way that made you want to learn information as well as being able to see people's perspectives. This trip allowed me to grow as a person as well as grow as a student with the added knowledge I learned from this trip. I loved the interaction between people through the different excursions which added an extra level of excitement and adventure to the trip.
    ExcitedWorldTraveler / Student traveller
    Greenfield, Wisconsin / Posted on July 19, 2017
  2. Incredible sights - whirlwind two weeks

    I was blown away by everything we were able to see in the two weeks we were abroad. This trip was my first to Europe, and had I planned it myself, I would have missed out on so much! Our tour leader and all of our city tour guides were incredibly knowledgeable about the sights we saw and were able to help us connect our previous knowledge to the new information. We saw incredible sights daily - even days when we had a 6 hour bus ride from point 1 to point 2. Our guide planned mini stops in smaller towns so we could see a different side of the countries we were in. I felt safe the entire time we were abroad because all of our hotels were in secure areas, and they all were comfortable. I couldn't believe it when our last day came and it was time to go home. This trip gave me the travel bug and I can't wait until our school does its next tour!
    MilTeacher / Adult traveller
    Milwaukee, Wi / Posted on July 18, 2017
  3. Best bang for your buck!

    This tour was one of the best travel experiences I've had in my life. Fitting four countries with many of its sites into 13 days was no small feat, but EF more than successfully pulled it off. I learned a lot about each country's history and the role each played in the Holocaust. I shared in the grief while visiting the most moving memorials I have ever visited while still enjoying the architecture and culture each city we visited had to offer. Paris has been my favorite city since I visited as a kid and several times since, but Warsaw and Krakow definitely gave Paris a run for its money! If there were problems on tour (and there were very few), EF stepped in quickly and corrected them. I would absolutely travel with EF again in the future. The accommodations were always great, the food was good, the tour director we had was AMAZING, and most of all, the educational experience was priceless. I always felt that we were safe and well taken care of, no matter what.
    SavageDragon / Group leader
    Warrensburg, MO / Posted on June 22, 2017
  4. Incredible Tour

    This was a journey all students/teachers should experience. As a history teacher this exceeded all my expectations. Our EF Tour Guide did everything to ensure we had any extra dimensions during our jouney. A life changing experience for everyone.
    HistoryKlaw / Group leader
    Prince Albert, Saskatchewan / Posted on May 04, 2014
  5. Life Changing Experience.

    This trip was a once and a lifetime opportunity. My brother and I are Jewish and going to these places really touched our hearts. We felt pain and sadness walking through the notorious Auschwitz-Birkeneau concentraion camp and examining a polish ghetto. As we traveled through these historical sites all I could do was imagine the horrors stricken upon the men, women, and children that were forced there to live and eventually die. My emotions let go as I walked through the gas chamber because I imagined what it was like and pictured it in my mind. Even though there were these emotional hard times, the students that I traveled with comforted my brother and I and this made me feel better. On another note, the rest of the trip was absolutely magnificent. Poland was beautiful and when it snowed it made it that much better. Prague was my favourite part of the trip, it is said to be one of the most beautiful cities in the world and I truly agree with that. When I decided to go on the trip and booked it I was expecting it to be sort of hectic with all the students and the tours, but when we got there it was perfect. Everyone behaved and everything went smoothly. I also thought it would be sort of boring because it sounded like tours everyday. It was great though because we got free time, and the tours weren't that long which made them good, and I was interested in every part. I thought this EF experience was really well done, the hotels were nice and the breakfast/dinners were always well done. Oh, and also the tour guide was a great guy, he did a very good job and I was quite impressed with his knowledge of the different countries. He also taught me some words in polish, german, and czech. I had a great time, an unforgettable experience and that is why I signed up for my second trip heading off to Italy.
    Bearjew / Student traveller
    North Bay, Ontario, Canada / Posted on December 06, 2010
  6. Fantastic experience for father and daughter

    My husband and 16 year old daughter went on the ten day Holocaust Tour in March 2010. They both came back as changed individuals as a result of the tour. My husband's parents came from Prague and Warsaw, so it was wonderful for my daughter and husband to connect with their past. They were very moved by everything they experienced in Europe on this trip, especially at the concentration camps and the Warsaw Ghetto. My daughter also marvelled at the architecture and has shared her experience with countless relatives and friends. My daughter has always loved to travel, but she will always remember this as being the best trip she has ever been on. Also, because of this wonderful opportunity, she has decided to pursue a degree in the travel and tourism industry when she goes to university next year. My son also went on an EF Tour to Italy in March 2006. His experience was also wonderful in every way. I would definitely recommend EF Tours to all parents who are thinking of sending their children abroad.
    Madonna / Parent
    Fort Erie, Ontario / Posted on December 02, 2010
  7. Wonderful Experience!

    This tour was incredible! I am not a huge history person, but as a chaperone on this trip, I learned so much! Our tour guide was amazing: so knowledgable, personable, and organized. I felt like my students and I were safe the entire trip, through all 4 of the big cities. We were also able to get out at night and see the big sites lit up. The tour is emotional at times, especially in the ghettos and at the concentration camps. There is also a LOT of walking, so bring comfortable shoes! But the food was excellent, the history was interesting, and the cities were beautiful. I think this a trip that EVERYONE needs to take. This is the history to keep passing theough generations so it doesn't get repeated!
    MoScienceTeacher / Adult traveller
    Perryville, MO / Posted on July 16, 2018
  8. Once in a lifetime

    As a parent, this tour was a wonderful trip that I would have never planned as a vacation. Even though the title and subject matter was sad, we found many times of fun. Our Directors were knowledgeable and very fun to hang around with. The food was somewhat bland but assume it was due to favoring teen diets.
    I would recommend anyone who can afford this trip, to take advantage of it with the 3 day add on!
    jojoglo / Adult traveller
    Hertford, NC / Posted on July 11, 2018
  9. A Trip of a Lifetime

    This trip was amazing. First off our tour guide was exceptional. Nice, knowledgeable, fluent and unflappable. She treated my students with care, kindness, and humor.
    The content of the tour was a combination of devastating and uplifting. The Jewish Museums we visited, in Berlin, Warsaw, and Prague gave the students insights into the life that was cut short by the Nazis. The camps themselves cannot be described. Our guide in Auschwutz/Birkenau was stoic, informative and refrained from hyperbolic descriptions. She was amazing.
    The group appreciated the "touring" aspects of the trips, our hotels were comfortable, the food was good, though the food when we were free for lunch was were you really experienced the local cuisine. The train ride from Berlin to Warsaw was so much fun. EF ran a great tour with an experienced tour director. I would recommend this tour highly. "Travel is Adventure"
    GLPrep / Group leader
    Queens, NY / Posted on July 08, 2018
  10. Amazing Experience

    At first I was skeptical about the price. Upon completion of the trip I can personally tell you that the value was all about the planning: having an experienced tour guide, not worrying about ticket lines, finding transportation from city to city, important sites to see, etc. We visited 4 countries on our 13 day tour. We traveled via planes, trains, buses, trams and foot. We loved every aspect of this trip with the exception of a few dinners served. It felt like the restaurants were used to EF visitors and didn't care about the food/experience they provided. The last night was the worst, the restaurant in Munich served boxed pasta with brown gravy and a frozen ice cream cone for desert. The restaurant in Krakow was the best!They had a log cabin Bavarian feel, the food was yummy, they served schnitzel and the desert was a fabulous apple pie. I would recommend including lunch with the EF cost and letting individuals seek their own dinner.
    TravelisAdventure / Adult traveller
    Hertford, NC / Posted on July 07, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?