Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 5)
339 England and France
5 stars
216
4 stars
88
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 star
5
  1. fun times

    I love how structured this tour was. Being a first-time traveler to Europe, this was helpful and beneficial because I was able to see all of the things that the tour director thought was worthwhile and didn't waste any time wondering what to do. Will definitely be doing more trips with EF!
    killakenz5 / Student traveller
    Ankeny, Iowa / Posted on August 06, 2018
  2. Scholarly experience

    The tour allowed for the students to not only experience history first hand, but through the experience, they have become worldly beyond measure and now have the confidence to explore other cultures with a newfound appreciation. Our tour guide taught them not only about the world beyond their small little town, but he taught them how to travel in a new place without the fear that they first had when they arrived in London and then in France. This experience was more than any classroom could have given them.
    SL2018 / Adult traveller
    Little Rock, Arkansas / Posted on March 27, 2018
  3. Amazing!

    The England and France trip was beyond anything we could have expected. Our tour guide in St. Malo was amazing! The change of pace from bustling cities like London and Paris, to the humbling beaches of Normandy and the memorials are so amazing it is almost impossible to put into words. The hotels and food were exactly as described. The thing to remember is the portion sizes are normal not super sized so if you are a big eater you will learn some moderation on this trip. Also bring comfortable shoes and be prepared to be amazed. I would recommend this tour to anyone.
    bigredone / Group leader
    Hereford, TX / Posted on January 25, 2017
  4. Breath taking

    This was my first time travelling without family and it was definitely the best experience of my life. I could not have asked for a better trip. Our days were always busy with fun things to do and our tour guide was amazing and he made the experience that much better. He was very friendly, always smiling and knew what he was talking about. There's no way i could pick one thing as my favorite because there was so many things that i loved. Going to the Buckingham palace, seeing the changing of the guards, walking through London and doing some shopping, then going on the eye of London at night. I learned that everyone there loves Canadians. France on the other hand was just as amazing. Mon Saint Michelle, Paris itself, climbing the Eiffel tower, going on the boat tour at night... I could go on about how great each thing was but It would take too long. I recommend to anyone who is thinking about going to do it. It changed my life and i'm sure it will change yours too!
    / Student traveller
    Moncton, NB / Posted on April 30, 2013
  5. The Expedition of a Lifetime!

    I was in grade 10 when I went to England and France with EF. I was also young, a little dumb, and completely unexposed to the world. Of course, at the time I'd never consider such things about myself, but my EF travel experience opened my mind. I had never flown over an ocean before, lost my luggage in Amsterdam, traveled around a city via a metro system, taken a ferry from one country to another, been on a beach that was actually warm that early in the spring, or seen another country's major monument, like the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, or the London Eye. I've never been one for museums, but words can't describe the experience you will have in the museums in London and across France. London is my favourite city, and someday I will return. Maybe I'll even live there someday. I loved Paris, but it was the more rural areas of France that took my breath away.
    Here's the thing about travelling: it's addicting. Once you've been somewhere as amazing as, say, England or France, where the architecture is of another century, the traditions are of another culture, and the languages are more diverse than any area in Canada or the States, you must continue to explore. This is only the beginning of my adventures. And it is the most memorable expedition of my life... so far.
    Raye / Student traveller
    Kamloops, BC / Posted on December 08, 2010
  6. Wow! What an experience

    This tour gives an experience that is varied and intense. Starting off in London was a great way to start by giving tours of royalty and of the major sights. London is as beautiful at night as it is in the day. Crossing on the Ferry into France allows you to build up anticipation. The Normandy region gives you an amazing experience of the history and also gives you a feel for rural France which is very unique and gives the students more flavor and feel of French Culture. Paris truly is the city of lights! Wow....from walking up the Champs Élysée at night up to L'Arche de Triomphe to walking through Versaille and the Louvre, to going up the Eiffel Tower and taking a Seine River cruise, the city is amazing and the culture is everywhere. EF provides you with excellent support and the guides are amazing! Truly an amazing adventure! THANK YOU!
    NS1981 / Group leader
    Nova Soctia / Posted on December 03, 2010
  7. Life Changing

    My daughter came home crying, overwhelmed by her trip of a lifetime. She said after that amazing excursion, she could never be the same little hometown girl again. Her eyes were opened, her mind was opened and her life as she knew it, had changed forever. The accommodations, meals, tour guides, itinerary and points of interest covered were just the right balance for an enjoyable time. I believe trips like these are very important for our youth to experience life outside their comfortable borders. All in all, the experience was priceless!
    Goldenbear / Parent
    Orangeville, ON / Posted on December 02, 2010
  8. Not worth my money

    I am a vegetarian who was promised by my tour director that they would accommodate to my dietary needs and the he would make sure of it. I had brought this up many time to ensure I would be fed sufficient food but instead no restaurant that we went to was aware of my dietary need before arrival. So they would in turn just give me the side dishes that everyone else had in the same portions as everyone else. I would then have to find something to eat near our hotel or order food to be delivered. This caused me to basically spend double on my food because I payed for it theough my tour payments and my spending money on the trip. I am highly unhappy with the way my tour director treated me when I confronted him about my problem. He basically told me it wasn’t his fault I had dietary needs and it wasn’t his job to tell the restaurants. I was never apologized for and was only refunded for one meal after I was literally served a plate of green beans. And that was just the beginning of the problems with the tour.
    99Jordy / Student traveller
    Salida Ca / Posted on August 03, 2018
  9. Drive Through Tour

    There were many issues of our tour that would make it difficult for me to recommend the experience to others. Our tour got off on the wrong foot with a prolonged flight delay. This, of course, was not EF Tours’ fault. However, it brought into focus one of the main issues with the tour itself. There are so many sights to see that it is impossible to really “see” anything. We were unable to conduct a walking tour of London on the first day because of the late arrival. However, we went to see the London Eye. The students enjoyed the experience. The next day we went on a bus tour of the city. The hired tour guide pointed out the “greatest hits”, but we were unable to truly experience the city. For example, St. Paul’s Cathedral was on the itinerary, but it was only pointed out to us from 3-4 kilometers away. I have seen pictures of the Cathedral with more details than we were afforded. The other problem in London was the location of the hotel. While distance wise it was not far from the center of the city, the traffic made it a 50-60 minute ride each way. We seem to spend more time commuting rather than enjoying the city.

    The food on our tour was simply abysmal. Almost all of the restaurants selected by EF Tours did not serve any regional cuisine to give anyone a real flavor of the countries we visited. I made the comment that the food was on par with mediocre college cafeteria food in the USA. Only when we were told to find restaurants did we get a taste of the local flavor. The tour director should have been able to recommend restaurants rather than having us hunt around.

    The hotels were fine, although the hotel in Paris did not have functioning air conditioning. Since the days in Paris were well into the 30s Celsius (90s Fahrenheit), it made for an uncomfortable stay. The breakfast at this hotel was also pretty bad. The other 3 hotels were more comfortable and the breakfasts were good.

    The Normandy and Paris portions of the tour were better than London. We did spend a little more time in places like Mont St. Michel, the D-Day sites, and Saint-Malo. We spent a lot of time walking in Paris, which is a good way to see the city. However, while we got to Notre Dame Cathedral, we did not get a tour inside. The Louvre and Versailles were so crowded, it was difficult to enjoy the experience. Again, the crowds are not EF Tours’ fault, but I wonder if this could be mitigated somewhat through better planning. After all, EF Tours are suppose to be experts in travel planning.

    The students on our tour were well behaved and appreciative of the trip. However, I feel they did not get to really experience England or France. Instead they got a “greatest hits” tour that fails to deliver an authentic experience. It felt like going through EPCOT. The tour failed to deliver a true cultural immersion that could have piqued their interest for future travel in Europe or other places.
    ET60 / Adult traveller
    Cumberland, RI / Posted on July 28, 2018
  10. Good, but........

    I was very disappointed that some things highlighted in the Overview of the Tour were not included to go into, such as St. Paul's Cathedral, Westminster Abbey, Canterbury Cathedral, and other places, especially in London. For the price my students paid for the trip, it feels as if most of the money went to other expenses besides entrances into places. France was great, but England seemed to be very sparse with the entrances into places. We should have spent much less time at the Borough Market, and more time in the Tower of London area.
    SmallTownGoesGlobal / Group leader
    Joanna, SC / Posted on July 26, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?