Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 5)
2007 Costa Rica: A Touch of the Tropics
5 stars
1575
4 stars
338
3 stars
60
2 stars
23
1 star
11
  1. Amazing Experience - So glad I went!

    My trip to Costa Rica was amazing and I made so many memories I will never forget! I learned a lot about the culture, environment, and philosophy of the country. I had so many fun adventures like ziplining, hiking to a waterfall, kayaking, and dancing. I would highly recommend this trip and would go again in a heartbeat!
    teenadventurer / Student traveller
    Chico, CA / Posted on April 18, 2019
  2. Wonderful Trip

    The guide and bus driver were excellent!
    Everything was arranged and timed very well.
    The variety of activities were great and kept the trip interesting.
    There was a nice mix of cultural and biological activities and active sports (kayaking, zip line).
    Well worth the cost.
    Fisher / Adult traveller
    Kent, Ohio / Posted on April 04, 2019
  3. A Trip of a Lifetime!

    I am so excited to give a raving review of my EF Costa Rica Tour. I can honestly say it exceeded my expectations. I have traveled in a variety of ways, independently, with groups, school trips, and family vacations. This particular tour made me a believer in going on the guided tour track, and especially with EF. Our guide provided the best of the best of educational tours. Providing us not only incredible and interesting information, but also provided entertainment, exercise and recreation! I feel I got to see, feel and taste all of Costa Rica's best. On our tour we dried coffee beans, ground and ate exotic cocoa creations, kayaked in lakes, hiked and swam in waterfalls, soaked in vernal pools, salsa danced with locals, wondered through cloud and rainforests, cooled off in the pacific ocean, and ate fresh local food every day. We saw sloths, monkeys, toucans, hummingbirds, butterflies, crocodiles, parrots, iguanas, and more! The temperature was absolutely delightful in March. It rained some in the mountains and rainforests, which was actually really pleasant and apparently very welcome to the locals. Our accommodations were always pleasant, comfortable and welcoming. I was happily surprised we could actually drink water from the tap wherever we went. Every meal included fresh fruit, salad, rice and beans, some kind of protein and freshly made juice of locally grown tropical fruit. Our tour guide and bus driver were an amazing team and clearly top notch in their field. Our guide made us feel so welcome, and truly heart and soul into our experience. I can't wait to do another trip, especially to Costa Rica.
    NorCalGal / Adult traveller
    Chico, Ca. / Posted on March 28, 2019
  4. Life Changing!

    This was an amazing experience that my daughter and I were lucky enough to do together. The beauty of this country is breathtaking, literally, at times. The waterfall tour was well worth the hike up and down. The hot springs was beautiful and revitalizing. The lake kayaking was so much fun! The ziplining was so much fun and we felt so safe doing it! Lastly, our group was cohesive and made the trip even better. However, the EF Tour director was so knowledgeable, kind and most important fun! You will not be disappointed if you go on this trip :)
    Milamber / Adult traveller
    Phoenix, AZ / Posted on March 26, 2019
  5. Would do it all over again...multiple times!

    This trip was the experience of a lifetime for me and my students. Our tour guide was a natural science teacher so he had a ton of personal knowledge to share about the geography, culture, flora, and fauna of the country. This really added to the experience. The excursions were well-thought and well-planned. This is a VERY active trip and somewhat physically strenuous at times. Bring good sturdy shoes and clothes for rain, wind, hot, and cold weather. I wished I brought jeans for the wind in Monteverde and leggings for the ziplining! My group and I loved this tour so much, I want to do it again in two years.
    chanclasviejas / Group leader
    Lawrenceville, GA / Posted on August 24, 2018
  6. Had a blast in Costa Rica!

    If you are ready for an action filled tour and have lots of energy this tour is for you! We had an amazing time in Costa Rica and saw so many amazing things. I did this trip a few years ago and loved it but this time it was even better! We saw so many animals - two and three toed sloths (some with a baby attached to them), three varieties of monkeys (the white faced ones at the beach were so cute!), raccoons, crocodiles, lizards, frogs, many different bugs and birds! If you go on this tour ask to do the crocodile river cruise - it is amazing! We sit back and relax on a boat going up and down a river finding so many different bird species and lots of crocodiles! Our boat driver got right in the water to feed the crocs chicken...it was crazy! He did this to about 5 different crocs! Quite the sight to see! The zip lining was a blast and many students overcame their fears - although they looked scared in the photos! Kayaking was fun and the water was perfect! We loved the hot springs and trying out all the different pools! Hiking down to the waterfall and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the river was a blast! So many neat places to explore. The cloud forest, Paos Volcano and the tropical rain forests were all interesting and fun to hike through. We had a lot of fun when we visited the school as we taught the students some songs - next time I would try to do some other activities with them as it makes the experience more profound. Our tour guide Freddie made our tour fun and educational and the students learned so much!
    I have done many tours and this tour is great for the really active students who are not that interested in Europe. It is inexpensive and all meals are provided...a great way to spend spring break and get away from the snow!
    Crocodile / Group leader
    Williams Lake, B.C. / Posted on April 02, 2014
  7. A great trip!

    What a blast! Between the zip lines, the horseback riding, the waterfalls and volcanoes, and the educational aspects for the students, this was an amazing adventure. We had lots of relaxation time and the places we stayed were fabulous. I SO recommend this trip. I know that everyone will enjoy themselves immensely.
    Chaperone / Adult traveller
    Posted on December 03, 2010
  8. Awesome Adventure!

    My students enjoyed an amazing, life changing experience in the Tropics. EF handled everything absolutely perfectly from the travel to the excursions to the food and lodging. Both our Tour Director and bus driver treated us like royalty. The students came home with a renewed appreciation for many things that we take for granted here in Canada. It was an Awesome Adventure
    MisterD / Group leader
    Fraser Lake, B.C. / Posted on December 02, 2010
  9. Gotta Go Back

    Our son had a wonderful, adventure-filled life experience on his Costa Rica tour with EF. With a jam-packed itinerary to many fascinating sites, his 10 days in Costa Rica flew by. From tree-top vistas to the jungle floor, from volcanic lava to sandy beaches, this trip had it all. He had such a great time that our whole family is going to Costa Rica for a week so we can all experience this amazing country!
    Rental / Parent
    Burlington, Ontario / Posted on December 02, 2010
  10. Amazing

    This trip was amazing. We could not have had better tour guides.
    WendyP / Adult traveller
    Lexington Kentucky / Posted on October 17, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?