Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 5)
2009 Costa Rica: A Touch of the Tropics
5 stars
1577
4 stars
338
3 stars
60
2 stars
23
1 star
11
  1. Rustic and Beautiful

    I would like to preface this review with how pleased I was with the beauty and culture of Costa Rica. The experience I had there with my students was truly amazing. We saw do many different animals (sloths!), beautiful landscapes, and enjoyed zip lining, kayaking, and hiking. The trip is also an education in living in a developing country. It is important to prepare for some rustic accommodations and different ways of life. Many of the hotels were not what we Americans would call comfortable and hot water was limited, which is to be expected. This is how it is in Costa Rica and its important to see this for students. I also got more car sick than I have ever been on the buses, as the roads were rough. Despite this I'm glad I went and my experience was worth every uncomfortable moment.
    Bunny83 / Adult traveller
    kentucky / Posted on September 26, 2019
  2. Costa Rica

    I loved Costa Rica, it was so peaceful there and we got to see a lot of wild life we would normally never see. It felt like there was never a dull moment cause of how much we got to do and the liveliness of the guides and the groups we were traveling with. I definitely want to go on more EF tours and I would love to go back to Costa Rica again. Be prepared for hiking and rain. The never prevented our group from doing anything we were scheduled to do. Beware of your phone plan some people from our group got international phone plans for the trip and did not have any service while there. We started our mornings between 6am-7am everyday cause the sun sets early and it was usually dark outside by like 6pm. Any time there was a problem it was solved that day. The tour guide and driver for our group was very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Our driver never once had to use a GPS during any of the 10 days we were there and he had taken many back roads to get us around bad traffic areas and get us to our destination the quickest way possible. Our driver would also play music for us and have lights going like a party bus. Also be prepared for rice and beans to be served for most meals. They will usually have salad and a meat to go with it and water and a juice will usually be available for you to drink.
    Experience49 / Student traveller
    Stoneville, NC / Posted on July 22, 2019
  3. Unforgettable trip

    My students and I had an incredible time and learned a lot about Costa Rica and it’s wonderful culture. We enjoyed tasting new foods, trying new things and stepping out of our comfort zones. Although getting along with other groups was a challenge at first, we all ended up talking and hanging out at the end of the trip. Our tour director was amazing. I loved the fact that they made videos and took pictures which they then posted to our social media page. We were so blessed to have this tour director and the group is students I had. I would definitely recommend the trip to another student and am looking forward to planning my next trip with EF Tours!
    Agrad3c1da / Group leader
    Arlington, TX / Posted on July 18, 2019
  4. Absolutely breathtaking

    Our trip was incredible! Everything was planned out, but we still had some free time to explore on our own. We were completely safe and knew where we were able to go. We knew what we were supposed to be doing and could ask anytime we were confused. Our tour guide and bus driver treated us like family and we really appreciated that. Everything we did was absolutely amazing and I couldn’t have asked for a better trip.
    Thegreatdefender / Student traveller
    Whitesburg, Georgia / Posted on July 14, 2019
  5. Trip of a lifetime!

    I believe my daughter has grown from this trip. She told me the tour guide was phenomenal. Always looked out for their safety and was very knowledgeable. When the truckers were on strike and blocking the roads, he suggested not to go white water rafting , that it would be too risky, and I thank him for that! They saw so much and learned so much. He involved the locals and got a taste of different places in Costa Rica. Great tour company. Very happy with them!
    Lesley / Parent
    Brighton, MI / Posted on July 04, 2019
  6. Amazing Experience - So glad I went!

    My trip to Costa Rica was amazing and I made so many memories I will never forget! I learned a lot about the culture, environment, and philosophy of the country. I had so many fun adventures like ziplining, hiking to a waterfall, kayaking, and dancing. I would highly recommend this trip and would go again in a heartbeat!
    teenadventurer / Student traveller
    Chico, CA / Posted on April 18, 2019
  7. Wonderful Trip

    The guide and bus driver were excellent!
    Everything was arranged and timed very well.
    The variety of activities were great and kept the trip interesting.
    There was a nice mix of cultural and biological activities and active sports (kayaking, zip line).
    Well worth the cost.
    Fisher / Adult traveller
    Kent, Ohio / Posted on April 04, 2019
  8. A Trip of a Lifetime!

    I am so excited to give a raving review of my EF Costa Rica Tour. I can honestly say it exceeded my expectations. I have traveled in a variety of ways, independently, with groups, school trips, and family vacations. This particular tour made me a believer in going on the guided tour track, and especially with EF. Our guide provided the best of the best of educational tours. Providing us not only incredible and interesting information, but also provided entertainment, exercise and recreation! I feel I got to see, feel and taste all of Costa Rica's best. On our tour we dried coffee beans, ground and ate exotic cocoa creations, kayaked in lakes, hiked and swam in waterfalls, soaked in vernal pools, salsa danced with locals, wondered through cloud and rainforests, cooled off in the pacific ocean, and ate fresh local food every day. We saw sloths, monkeys, toucans, hummingbirds, butterflies, crocodiles, parrots, iguanas, and more! The temperature was absolutely delightful in March. It rained some in the mountains and rainforests, which was actually really pleasant and apparently very welcome to the locals. Our accommodations were always pleasant, comfortable and welcoming. I was happily surprised we could actually drink water from the tap wherever we went. Every meal included fresh fruit, salad, rice and beans, some kind of protein and freshly made juice of locally grown tropical fruit. Our tour guide and bus driver were an amazing team and clearly top notch in their field. Our guide made us feel so welcome, and truly heart and soul into our experience. I can't wait to do another trip, especially to Costa Rica.
    NorCalGal / Adult traveller
    Chico, Ca. / Posted on March 28, 2019
  9. Life Changing!

    This was an amazing experience that my daughter and I were lucky enough to do together. The beauty of this country is breathtaking, literally, at times. The waterfall tour was well worth the hike up and down. The hot springs was beautiful and revitalizing. The lake kayaking was so much fun! The ziplining was so much fun and we felt so safe doing it! Lastly, our group was cohesive and made the trip even better. However, the EF Tour director was so knowledgeable, kind and most important fun! You will not be disappointed if you go on this trip :)
    Milamber / Adult traveller
    Phoenix, AZ / Posted on March 26, 2019
  10. Would do it all over again...multiple times!

    This trip was the experience of a lifetime for me and my students. Our tour guide was a natural science teacher so he had a ton of personal knowledge to share about the geography, culture, flora, and fauna of the country. This really added to the experience. The excursions were well-thought and well-planned. This is a VERY active trip and somewhat physically strenuous at times. Bring good sturdy shoes and clothes for rain, wind, hot, and cold weather. I wished I brought jeans for the wind in Monteverde and leggings for the ziplining! My group and I loved this tour so much, I want to do it again in two years.
    chanclasviejas / Group leader
    Lawrenceville, GA / Posted on August 24, 2018

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?