Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 5)
1931 Costa Rica: A Touch of the Tropics
5 stars
1510
4 stars
332
3 stars
56
2 stars
22
1 star
11
  1. Would do it all over again...multiple times!

    This trip was the experience of a lifetime for me and my students. Our tour guide was a natural science teacher so he had a ton of personal knowledge to share about the geography, culture, flora, and fauna of the country. This really added to the experience. The excursions were well-thought and well-planned. This is a VERY active trip and somewhat physically strenuous at times. Bring good sturdy shoes and clothes for rain, wind, hot, and cold weather. I wished I brought jeans for the wind in Monteverde and leggings for the ziplining! My group and I loved this tour so much, I want to do it again in two years.
    chanclasviejas / Group leader
    Lawrenceville, GA / Posted on August 24, 2018
  2. Amazing experience!

    Our students learned about Costa Rica, the people, the amazing forests and ecosystems as well as interact with Costa Rican teenagers. Our tour guide got to know us and customized our trip to make it a once in a life time experience.
    ktay / Adult traveller
    Ithaca, NY / Posted on August 16, 2018
  3. Costa Rica is awesome.

    Costa Rica was amazing. The volcano, waterfalls, rainforest, rafting, hot springs, folkloric dancing, zip lining and soo much more was absolutely thrilling. I had soo much fun. Memories I will cherish forever. The food and locals were great as well. I learned about coffee and chocolate. Their culture was amazing to experience.
    Allieboo / Student traveller
    Fresno California / Posted on July 27, 2018
  4. Outside the Box

    I say outside the box because I have never been very many places especially out of the country. I am a very reserved type and kind of scared of everything. My mother really pushed me to go on this trip in fact she come along with me. Not only was it great to have my mother there with me but I was a totally different person. I tried all the foods rather I liked or not and I done all activities with no hesitation. The trip was full of beautiful scenery, high impact activities and sometimes very exhausting. It was worth every tired day or aching bones. I have seen there is a whole new world other than my small box that I have been in most my life. From now on I will live outside the box.
    Audibell / Student traveller
    Vidalia, Ga. / Posted on July 10, 2018
  5. Amazing experiences

    17 years ago I have the privilege to go on an EF tour to Costa Rica and it totally changed my life. It gave me a whole new perspective on life and what I had. I just returned home from my second EF tour to Costa Rica but this time I went as a parent. I was able to watch my 12 year old son have his life changed before my eyes. The trip went just about as flawless as it could get. EF really is a notch above any company when it comes to the experiences they give people. I am truly thankful to EF for what they have given myself and my son.
    BlessedTraveler / Adult traveller
    Lansing, Michigan / Posted on April 12, 2018
  6. Muy rico!

    We took a group of middle school students to Costa Rica on an EF tour. It was a wonderful trip and our students were engaged throughout our stay. There were daily educational and adventure-seeking opportunities for our students, as well as moments when they relaxed, played, and bonded with each other. Our EF Tour Director was extremely professional, experienced, personable and funny. He was attentive to our collective and individual needs and did an excellent job assessing when to keep our students occupied and when to give them (and the adults) downtime to relax and rest. His presentation and running commentary was infused with love and pride for his country, which is easy to understand since Costa Rica is such a beautiful country. I would definitely take another group on an EF Tour to Costa Rica and I would be willing to take EF Tour of other countries.
    Snacky / Adult traveller
    Baltimore, MD / Posted on April 08, 2018
  7. Action, Adventures, and Total Awesomeness

    Everyday was jam-packed with so many fun, educational, and interesting things to do. Snorkeling with yellow tangs, zip-lining over rain forest canopy, river boat ride spying exotic birds, crocodiles, and iguanas. My 13 year old son and I had a once in a lifetime experience. But some of my favorite memories will be the unprompted & unplanned things that occurred. A pick up game of soccer with school children, folk dancing, making empanadas with the locals . . .our memories of this trip will live on as will our wonderful and shared experience and deeper understanding of this beautiful country.
    kmanny / Adult traveller
    Albuquerque, NM / Posted on April 03, 2018
  8. Awesome Adventure

    I went with a few friends and I had the time of my life! We went horseback riding, zip-lining, hiking, kayaking, swimming, on a crocodile boat tour, we went on rain forest tours and hiked up a volcano! I was able to interact with the locals and learn a new way of life, a pura vida life! I drank some awesome coffee and ate foods i would have never eaten if not for the trip. I saw a huge variety of wildlife that is indigenous only in Costa Rica's insanely diverse ecosystems! Overall, it was one of the best trips I ever took and look forward to taking another tour with EF!
    katie31601 / Student traveller
    Stony Point, New York / Posted on February 25, 2018
  9. Trip of a life time

    This was my first time on a plane and out of the country. It was one I will never forget and I continue to tell every person I meet. Our tour guide was amazing! The hot water spring was amazing. The waterfalls and beaches are so beautiful. This trip also includes zip-lining(another first for me) it was incredible. I was definitely nervous but this whole trip was not a regret! I would love to go on it again!
    Collins1234 / Student traveller
    Bay city, Michigan / Posted on January 31, 2018
  10. Pura Vida!

    This was an excellent tour filled with adventures, activities and lots of education about a wonderful country! The sights, sounds and beauty of Costa Rica is something that everyone should experience if they can.

    EF Tours made the tour so simple! Make your reservation, get your passport, and GO! Super easy and no worries about anything except getting up in the morning to get started!

    I would recommend this tour to anyone!
    kansasyarn / Adult traveller
    Robinson, Kansas / Posted on August 04, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?