Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 5)
387 China: Beijing, Xi'an and Shanghai
5 stars
302
4 stars
74
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
  1. Another land, another culture

    Prepare to be amazed by the sights, sounds, smells, and people. It is a culture unlike any in the world, or any I have experienced. The 3000 and more years of history presented by a communist government provide a unique experience for any traveler. The food was fantastic, with many options for travelers of many tastes. The goods and services were extremely affordable, and the tour guide was likeable and capable of handling any bumps in the road. The atmosphere was one of safety: security cameras were everywhere, which in itself was a novel experience for me. It is a place I'd recommend to anybody who doesn't mind walking, and I'd enthusiastically recommend to anyone who enjoys new experiences, especially foods.
    Americano43 / Student traveller
    Lake Charles, Louisiana / Posted on June 10, 2018
  2. Fun & Educational trip

    My 14 year old son absolutely loved his 10 day trip to China and said it was even better than he’d expected. I really feel he gained a cultural experience rather than just a vacation and hadn’t stopped talking about everything he saw & experienced there. He even claims to love Chinese food which was definitely not the case before he left! While I wasn’t sure before he left if it was going to be worth the money, I would now say that it definitely was.
    Alex99 / Student traveller
    New York / Posted on April 11, 2018
  3. The Adventure of A Lifetime

    Not many people can say they have been to the Great Wall, have seen the terra-cotta army, or have even been to China. This experience was life changing in so many aspects. Our tour guide was incredible, the hotels were nice, the food was amazing, and the sights were breathtaking. This tour has opened my eyes to how beautiful the world is. I am so lucky to have had this opportunity!
    leenbean / Student traveller
    Milford, PA / Posted on July 13, 2017
  4. So impressed with everything about the China trip!

    My daughter journeyed to Beijing, Xi'an, and Shanghai with her Chinese language teacher (who is a native of Taiwan) and classmates, and everything about the trip was so wonderful! The details were impeccably planned out in advance, so they maximized each day with non-stop experiences of the tasty food, historical sights, and local culture. Safety was always a top priority and the utmost care was taken to ensure that each student remained in the protection of the teachers and parent chaperones throughout the journey. I couldn't be more grateful to EF Tours for giving my daughter this amazing experience; she is already talking about how she can't wait to go on another EF Tours adventure next summer!
    HappyMom42 / Parent
    Kirkwood, MO / Posted on June 23, 2017
  5. Beyond my expectations

    This tour was one full day of exciting and fascinating experiences after another. It is remarkable how many events we fit in each day. Our tour guide was experienced and very professional. He had everything planned carefully. Our days ran smoothly and well with varied experiences. Some of our best events were ones that would be very difficult to arrange on our own. Dinner in a Beijing family's home, a Taichi lesson at the Summer Palace, an impromptu hackey sack lesson with locals, a visit with middle school students...These were some of the most delightful things we did and honestly, I wouldn't be able to plan these things myself. Our guide had many connections that allowed us to see not only the important historical sites in China, but to connect with some of the people of China today. This was truly an experience of a lifetime and it made me want to travel more!
    Gimomica / Adult traveller
    Goodyear, Arizona / Posted on June 11, 2017
  6. Once in a lifetime experience.

    This tour of China was a life changing experience. Every student and chaperone on the trip were affected by this incredible cultural experience that was non-stop fun. The three cities of Beijing, Xi'an, and Shanghai all had a multitude of attraction and experiences that highlighted Chinese culture both past and present. Our tour guide John was 10+ in every aspect of the tour with his excellent timing of events, knowledge of Chinese history, and his incredible flexibility in dealing with over 40 high school students. Practicing tai chi on the Summer Palace grounds, walking the Great Wall, taking a rickshaw tour of the Hu tong neighborhood, dancing with classical styled Chinese dancers at the Temple of Heaven, practicing calligraphy with masters in Xi'an and riding bicycles on its ancient city walls, touring the site of the Terra Cotta warriors, and taking the night time river boat cruise of Shanghai were just some of the highlights with many more I could mention. Our accommodations and meals were excellent the entire tour.
    I would highly recommend this trip, not only for its great value price wise, but also for a cultural experience where you can smell, taste, see, touch, and experience China's long history.
    timeofmylife / Adult traveller
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA / Posted on May 06, 2016
  7. Ideal itinerary, learning opportunity for students

    This trip far exceeded my expectations in every way, both in the tour itinerary and in the quality of its staff.

    As an experienced traveler in China I was impressed by the tour itinerary; students see a great deal of all three cities in the little time that they have in the country. There is a good balance between major tourist highlights and more relaxed time for exploration at lunch and in the evening. I couldn't have arranged a better tour.

    Our tour director, tour guides, and EF tour coordinator all supported our trip with a friendly professionalism that made both my students and myself confident we were in good hands. Our local tour director in particular stood out for her adaptability to our group, excellent English proficiency, sense of humor, and calm responsiveness to every situation, including one challenging moment with a couple of our students.

    One additional benefit of this tour was the ample opportunity for students studying the Chinese language to use their learning in authentic situations, e.g. buying food and souvenirs, introducing themselves to local guides and service people, interacting with students at a Chinese high school, etc.

    Our group was very happy with this tour and I plan to organize another group for it in the future!
    SocalChineseteacher / Group leader
    Thousand Oaks, CA / Posted on April 06, 2016
  8. What an amazing experience!!

    From day one, EF Tours took care of us from the well organized trip to the nice hotels to the wonderful food to the amazing tour director Aaron! It was a wonderful experience and our safety was their number one priority! It was our first international experience and EF Tours took care of us all the way through! Our tour guide was knowledgeable in the history of China and also gave us advice on where to eat. He was also with us 24/7, so it made us feel even more secure. There was also an additional tour guide in each city that we went to in order to make sure that we got the most out of our experience and to give us the history of each attraction we went to. I can't say enough about our experience and how amazing it was! We will definitely travel with them again in the future!! Thank you EF Tours!!
    Davey / Adult traveller
    Gilbert, AZ / Posted on March 23, 2016
  9. Trip of a Lifetime!

    This was my first trip out of the country, and my first big trip with students. I could not have asked for a better experience! From the moment we stepped off the plane, we were immersed in all China had to offer. Our tour director made our experience even more amazing! Every waking moment of the day was dedicated to learning about and experiencing Chinese culture, history, food, and language. I was nervous about traveling so far from home, but EF calmed my nerves and gave me and my students the trip of a lifetime!
    FirstTimeTravelingTeacher / Adult traveller
    Oxford, Mississippi / Posted on March 20, 2016
  10. China is a MUST SEE!

    Holy cow! I have toured with students for years and have never taken a better tour. The food, hotels, sights, Tour Director, and local guides were all above amazing!
    The Great Wall, The Forbidden City, The Terracotta Warriors, and on and on...all were far more than we expected.
    GO TO CHINA!!
    cdnglobetrotter1 / Adult traveller
    Edmonton, Alberta / Posted on December 06, 2010

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?