Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.5 5)
26 From Vimy to Juno: History of Canada in the World Wars
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
  1. Unbelievable!

    This trip was amazing. From the sights we saw to the people we met. The days were well planned and every detail managed brilliantly. No classroom can teach you as much about history or the world as this trip did. Thank you EF Tours for the incredible opportunity to make this memory possible.
    Elody / Student traveller
    Delisle, Saskatchewan / Posted on November 07, 2015
  2. Absolutely perfect!

    This is a perfect tour! Maybe a little exhausting, but jam-packed with activity and knowledge, so a good exhausting. We started in Berlin and travelled through the Netherlands, Belgium, France and England. Our days started early, and ended late, but each day held excitement and satisfied one's love of travel. As Canadians, we truly felt the sacrifices that had been made for our freedom and for others. I feel almost ashamed that the Canadian education system seems to gloss over this to some degree when you see the appreciation that is still evident in Europe in 2019. If I had enough students, I would do this tour every year as I feel that it is that important and worthwhile.

    This was not my first EF tour. I feel that EF has improved in many ways in regards to the meals. All meals were tasty and sufficient in size. A little more down time would be to a benefit to students to allow them a little freedom from their travel mates, but I honestly don't know what I would cut from this tour. Perhaps it should be made a little longer.

    As I have been on other tours, I feel comfortable admitting that the strength of the tour comes from the tour director. Ours was the best! I have never had a poor director, but this one was over the top fantastic. I wish I was allowed to share names, as I believe that excellence should be rewarded. I would not hesitate to choose a different tour, if we had the same director. Our TD always made sure we were safe, on time, and having a good time. That is a difficult balance.
    YGTraveller / Group leader
    Yellow Grass, Saskatchewan / Posted on May 02, 2019
  3. Incredible!!!!!

    I can not say enough about this amazing tour. We did from Vimmy to Juno, it was so informative and our tour guide was a walking encyclopedia. He was able to answer all of our questions and was very helpful. We had a little issue with our train being cancelled and EF tours step up and made it so east for us to continue enjoying our tour. We had an extra day in Paris and it was amazing. I also felt that we didn't miss anything in London as they had a bus at our disposal and we were still able to see everything we had planned. Thank you EF for being so wonderful I will definitely be telling people this is the way to see a country you want to learn about.
    Queen / Group leader
    Williams Lake, BC / Posted on April 10, 2019
  4. Busy fun

    This itinerary is PACKED with content, which sometimes could be spread more efficiently. Lost of free time to explore the big cities, great touring of war related spots throughout Flanders and France. Get ready for lots of coach and train time.
    HISTORYTEACHER1985 / Group leader
    Posted on March 20, 2019
  5. Loved it

    I honestly don’t know what to say but it was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. I loved our tour guide and would miss them.
    AdrianQ / Student traveller
    Thunder Bay, Ontario / Posted on March 19, 2019
  6. Powerful Beyond Measure

    The importance of this pilgrimage to Canada's Battlefields can not be overstated. The Tour Director and Bus Driver were the best I have ever had on tour. We worked to squeeze every moment out of the tour so that not a single second was wasted. That being said, it should be noticed that this itinerary is not for the faint of heart. It is filled to the max. If your goal is relaxation and shopping, then this is not the tour for you.
    FatherRob / Group leader
    Three Hills, Alberta / Posted on April 27, 2018
  7. Stellar Trip

    I absolutely loved my trip to Europe! I was able to learn so much and experience things I never thought I would.
    AdventureLover / Student traveller
    Ontario / Posted on August 03, 2017
  8. Amazing Emotional Tour

    An excellent tour of Canada's War efforts during both World Wars. A moving and touching experience for both our students and chaperones on this trip. Only needed more time in the various places to soak up the experience that much further. The Concentration Camp experience at Brenkdork (spelled wrong I know) was a better experience than the one highlighted on the tour. Both our tour guide and bus driver went out of their was to ensure that we got to experience other things that were not listed on our tour such as going to the German graveyard.
    Ricco / Group leader
    Paradise, NL / Posted on May 08, 2017
  9. Every Canadian Student Should Go On This!

    To see and hear the history first hand was an unbelievable experience. I am already planning our next tour and this is the one!
    Maheia / Group leader
    Saskatchewan / Posted on May 08, 2017
  10. Amazing Destinations, Disappointing Tour

    A trip which visits Berlin, Amsterdam, various locations in Belgium, the Normandy region in France and Paris cannot possibly be a bad trip. This trip was amazing because of the locations that it covered. This was, however, the only thing that made it amazing. I do not understand how the trip cost as much as it did for what it was. I would not have had a problem with the price had we visited all the locations we were supposed to and had the food been good. But we did not visit many of the locations we were supposed to, and the food was inadequate. Additionally, some elements of the tour were simply poorly thought-out. To begin, in Berlin we did not visit the western half of the city whatsoever. We spent all of our time in the east. I understand, that the trip is supposed to be focused on history, and in the case of Berlin, the Cold War. However, the west of Berlin is far nicer than the east, and the very contrast between the two halves of the city has historical significance. There were many locations in Berlin that were on our itinerary as places we were planning to visit. Our "visits" to many of these locations consisted of driving by them with a bus and having them pointed out by the tour guide. This is misleading at best, and deceitful at worst. I will point out, on the other hand, that I was very pleased with our local Berlin tour guide's expertise and character. We took the train from Berlin to a small town outside of Amsterdam. We were supposed to visit a war cemetery between this town and Amsterdam, however, we simply boarded the bus and drove directly to the train station in Amsterdam. We missed another point on our itinerary and wasted time and money by not simply continuing to Amsterdam on the train. In Amsterdam we had extensive periods of free time in our hotel in the evening, and we could not access the city from out hotel. This time should have been spent visiting the locations from our itinerary that we missed. I was very pleased with our bus driver from Amsterdam through to Paris. Throughout Belgium and the Normandy region of France we missed several points on our itinerary. We also missed itinerary points in Paris. Overall, the food was not of significant quantity or quality. I cannot imagine that this was necessary to bring down the cost of the trip. Based on the lunches we purchased independently, which were usually more filling and much better in terms of quality, I imagine that much better dinners could have been found for equally affordable prices. I would have much preferred to pay less for the trip and purchase dinners independently as well. It must be said that local cuisine is central to fully experiencing any culture, especially in Europe, and I was deeply disappointed in this aspect of the trip. I had been greatly looking forward to the culinary experience of being in Europe. Overall, I believe I would have enjoyed the trip far more if I had done it myself without EF tours, and do not believe this would have affected the price significantly.
    AA11 / Student traveller
    Black Creek, British Columbia / Posted on April 17, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?