Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.4 5)
22 From Vimy to Juno: History of Canada in the World Wars
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
  1. Unbelievable!

    This trip was amazing. From the sights we saw to the people we met. The days were well planned and every detail managed brilliantly. No classroom can teach you as much about history or the world as this trip did. Thank you EF Tours for the incredible opportunity to make this memory possible.
    Elody / Student traveller
    Delisle, Saskatchewan / Posted on November 07, 2015
  2. Powerful Beyond Measure

    The importance of this pilgrimage to Canada's Battlefields can not be overstated. The Tour Director and Bus Driver were the best I have ever had on tour. We worked to squeeze every moment out of the tour so that not a single second was wasted. That being said, it should be noticed that this itinerary is not for the faint of heart. It is filled to the max. If your goal is relaxation and shopping, then this is not the tour for you.
    FatherRob / Group leader
    Three Hills, Alberta / Posted on April 27, 2018
  3. Stellar Trip

    I absolutely loved my trip to Europe! I was able to learn so much and experience things I never thought I would.
    AdventureLover / Student traveller
    Ontario / Posted on August 03, 2017
  4. Amazing Emotional Tour

    An excellent tour of Canada's War efforts during both World Wars. A moving and touching experience for both our students and chaperones on this trip. Only needed more time in the various places to soak up the experience that much further. The Concentration Camp experience at Brenkdork (spelled wrong I know) was a better experience than the one highlighted on the tour. Both our tour guide and bus driver went out of their was to ensure that we got to experience other things that were not listed on our tour such as going to the German graveyard.
    Ricco / Group leader
    Paradise, NL / Posted on May 08, 2017
  5. Every Canadian Student Should Go On This!

    To see and hear the history first hand was an unbelievable experience. I am already planning our next tour and this is the one!
    Maheia / Group leader
    Saskatchewan / Posted on May 08, 2017
  6. Amazing Destinations, Disappointing Tour

    A trip which visits Berlin, Amsterdam, various locations in Belgium, the Normandy region in France and Paris cannot possibly be a bad trip. This trip was amazing because of the locations that it covered. This was, however, the only thing that made it amazing. I do not understand how the trip cost as much as it did for what it was. I would not have had a problem with the price had we visited all the locations we were supposed to and had the food been good. But we did not visit many of the locations we were supposed to, and the food was inadequate. Additionally, some elements of the tour were simply poorly thought-out. To begin, in Berlin we did not visit the western half of the city whatsoever. We spent all of our time in the east. I understand, that the trip is supposed to be focused on history, and in the case of Berlin, the Cold War. However, the west of Berlin is far nicer than the east, and the very contrast between the two halves of the city has historical significance. There were many locations in Berlin that were on our itinerary as places we were planning to visit. Our "visits" to many of these locations consisted of driving by them with a bus and having them pointed out by the tour guide. This is misleading at best, and deceitful at worst. I will point out, on the other hand, that I was very pleased with our local Berlin tour guide's expertise and character. We took the train from Berlin to a small town outside of Amsterdam. We were supposed to visit a war cemetery between this town and Amsterdam, however, we simply boarded the bus and drove directly to the train station in Amsterdam. We missed another point on our itinerary and wasted time and money by not simply continuing to Amsterdam on the train. In Amsterdam we had extensive periods of free time in our hotel in the evening, and we could not access the city from out hotel. This time should have been spent visiting the locations from our itinerary that we missed. I was very pleased with our bus driver from Amsterdam through to Paris. Throughout Belgium and the Normandy region of France we missed several points on our itinerary. We also missed itinerary points in Paris. Overall, the food was not of significant quantity or quality. I cannot imagine that this was necessary to bring down the cost of the trip. Based on the lunches we purchased independently, which were usually more filling and much better in terms of quality, I imagine that much better dinners could have been found for equally affordable prices. I would have much preferred to pay less for the trip and purchase dinners independently as well. It must be said that local cuisine is central to fully experiencing any culture, especially in Europe, and I was deeply disappointed in this aspect of the trip. I had been greatly looking forward to the culinary experience of being in Europe. Overall, I believe I would have enjoyed the trip far more if I had done it myself without EF tours, and do not believe this would have affected the price significantly.
    AA11 / Student traveller
    Black Creek, British Columbia / Posted on April 17, 2017
  7. Best Teaching Experience!

    This tour was a fantastic composition of learning, experiencing and travel. We were appropriately tired at the end of the day, but woke up each morning invigorated to go. Every stop we made had amazing guides that led our students through experiences of Canadian soldiers during world war I and II. The memorial sites that are maintained by Veterans Canada were world class and made us proud to be Canadian. Any student who takes World History after this trip will get an A. Meals, hotels, buses, weather, museums....all exceeded my expectations.
    / Group leader
    Surrey, BC Canada / Posted on April 03, 2017
  8. Great Sites/Poor Planning

    Missed out on some of the itinerary sites due to poor planning.
    The meals that were paid for in the plan were not authentic to the country as was described originally and the portions were very small and pretty much always the same (chicken and rice)
    Overall, the experience could have been so much better with more preparation and organization.
    Spring / Student traveller
    B.C. / Posted on March 29, 2017
  9. Not what was expected

    This tour was advertised as History tour, however, there weren't many history aspects to it. We toured to the monuments which were beautiful, but we weren't given much time to really enjoy their true beauty. Overall it was a great tour, but I wish we would have had more time at the sites because I feel this is more important than shopping.
    Lanna / Student traveller
    Petrolia, Ontario / Posted on September 01, 2016
  10. Mixed

    Overall a good tour except below average tour director as he/she was not very professional or all that knowledgeable about most of the sites and on many occasion did his/her own thing leaving us to ourselves. The tour director got lost going back to the hotel more than once and walked too fast for the group not paying attention to where we were nor stopping and chatting about the sites on these extended walking tours. Some of the hotels were far too long a walk from the metro (20-30 min) after long days of walking etc. Some meals were only just fine while others were excellent. The Tour Guides at all outings were outstanding as were the sites. We felt that their was extra costs at times example paying for the metro and bus that were not well explained before hand. More information prior to trip on these extras would be better in the future for other trips. Most of us expected extra costs for doing activities beyond the guaranteed trip covered in the pricing but there seemed to be hidden costs at times. The museums and tour was very good so overall experience was average. On another note the number of contact persons over the past year that we had for our trip was offputting.
    UncleG22 / Group leader
    Ontario / Posted on March 28, 2016

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?