Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.8 5)
123 Canada's Battlefields
5 stars
100
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
  1. Exceeded Expectations!

    From the first call I made to initiate this tour to the moment I said goodbye to my last student at the airport, I was supported each step of the way. I found it of great benefit to have access to my group's details (contact, payment schedules, etc.) via the Group Leader online access. Our itinerary had frequent additions (very welcome!) and our Tour Director seemed to have amazing connections and knowledge at each major stop. We were always learning in a fun, engaging and meaningful way. I feel that part of this success was the fact that I prepared my own group (including chaperones) both socially and academically prior to departure; this enhanced the experience for ALL involved. This was my first time as a Group Leader and already have my 3rd tour up and running for 2012 and 2013!
    Flanders / Group leader
    Ottawa, ON Canada / Posted on March 08, 2012
  2. Victory Unimaginable

    Truely an amazing trip. Hard to believe what the soldiers went through in war until you are really at the sites. Still hard to imagine all the effort that was put into making the underground trenches. We had an excellent bus driver and tour director. Who ever we talk to, we tell them if they want to go on a trip, GO! We're going again.
    Baker / Adult traveller
    St. Alphonse, Man / Posted on January 02, 2011
  3. Ill never forget you Paris!

    My trip with EF tours, was a tour I will never forget, I will be telling my grandchildren about this trip. I always had the bug to travel, ever since I was young, and the opportunity to travel across the world to see Paris, Normandy, Belgium, and Amsterdam, and visit the Canadian battlefields, and to travel with friends, was an experience I thought wouldn't be offered to me for many more years.
    Traveling to me, is more than just taking a trip, it is my whole world. With EF, the flights were terrific, the hotels were wonderful, and the people and tour guides are unforgettable.
    One of my most memorable memories of my EF tour was waking up in a hotel which overlooked Paris, and seeing the Eiffel tower from my window, took my breath away and made me want to stay.
    I thank EF for giving me this opportunity, to see where Canada became a free country, and to see the burial sites of our great soldiers, and be able to honor those men, right at their grave site.
    This was an amazing trip, and it will be one that I will never forget, I would recommend this trip to anyone, of any age, gender, or ethnicity.
    Thank you EF!
    IslandChick / Student traveller
    Kamloops, BC / Posted on December 04, 2010
  4. Good Times

    I lead a smaller group of 12 students. We were paired with another group from the same province. It was a great time, very educational for the students. It provided me with several teaching moments and more insight to take to the classroom. The Students that came with me also helped to prepare the Remembrance Day ceremony at the school, and it was a much more personal experience for them. It was a great tour and I have another going this March Break and another in the planning stages for the following year.
    Coach92 / Group leader
    London, Ontario / Posted on December 02, 2010
  5. Deep Meaning

    Taking 40 students to the battlefields of Europe is one of the highlights of my teaching career. Seeing the students emotionally react to the military sites that are fundamental to who we are as Canadians made us all incredibly proud. Whether it was Paris, Versailles, Normandy, Belgium or Amsterdam, the students raved at every stop. The tour can be summed up best on a night we watched the sun set over Vimy Ridge and a student draped in a Canadian flag turned to me and said "this is the best day of my life". There were a lot of moments like that on this trip.
    MM2011 / Group leader
    Markham, Ontario / Posted on December 02, 2010
  6. Trip of a Lifetime

    This tour was amazing. Our Tour Director really knew the whole trip and was quite willing to adjust the tour to include a few places not on the itinerary. Getting the chance to see where so much history was made was a once in a lifetime chance. I would highly recommend this tour. The days were full but with just enough downtime.

    It made an impact on everyone on our tour and on me personally. Any Canadian, weather you have an interest in WW1 or WW2, should do this trip. The memorials and history will give you a better understanding of what makes us Canadian.

    Food was good. A nice choice of local fare. Hotels were perfectly fine and were used mostly to sleep in. Never had a too hard bed and the rooms themselves were neither awesome or shabby. Perfectly suited to sleeping after a long day of learning and walking.
    CadetMom /
    Powell River BC / Posted on April 21, 2018
  7. Battlefield Experience

    The success of our trip depended on one big factor: the guide who would be with us.
    In our case, our guide was not only extremely knowledgeable in the history of the areas we visited, but was also very knowledgeable about the history of the events themselves.
    This is a trip I would highly recommend for those who love history!
    Mac222 / Adult traveller
    Ottawa, Canada / Posted on December 28, 2017
  8. Misrepresentation and Misinformation

    Ontario sales reps seem to be sincere when they apologize for the less than satisfactory nature of our tour. Our tour leader was incompetent and disrespectful. They have assured me that more rigorous vetting will be done for future tour directors. Our agenda was confusing, rushed (we often doubled back to reach the next day's destination), and missed approximately 30% of the listed sites and activities. We won a Vimy Foundation competition and were promised a ceremony to rival the hundredth anniversary which we had to miss. Instead we had to argue, late into the night, to increase our time at Vimy to an hour and a half from one. The purpose of our trip was to visit the Vimy site. It was very disappointing.
    The food and lodging was good but most often more than an hour's travel from anywhere on the itinerary. Our bus driver was excellent.
    The group leaders we shared the bus with were, luckily, knowledgeable and cooperative. We worked together to provide the students with a meaningful experience, taking them to extra experiences and providing them with extra information. The success of the trip was in spite of EF not because of EF.
    Additionally, a child would not get on the plane after one of our layovers. A paying chaperone had to stay with her. Both of them lost the entire cost of the trip. EF insurance does not cover "mental illness."
    awardwinner / Group leader
    Northern Ontario / Posted on April 04, 2017
  9. Fantasitic Historical Review of WWI and WWII

    WOW!! The entire tour was amazing. From Anne Franks House in Amsterdam to Brugge, Belgium to Ypres, Belgium Menen Gate (Last Post), Passchendale Memorial, Museum, Battlefield, Cemetaries, St. Julien, John McCrae Memorial, Vimy Ridge Memorial (trenches and tunnels), Beaumont Hamel (trenches and tunnels), Normandy (Canada House, Juno Beach Center, fortifications of the Atlantic Wall bunkers, gun placements and pill boxes) Omaha Beach (American Memorial and Cemetery) German fortification of the Atlantic Wall, Point de Hoc again more fortifications of Hitler's Atlantic Wall and then to Reuen France where Joan of Arc was burn't at the stake then to Paris France. Simple an incredible and emotional experience. Our tour director was incredible with extra experiences to Cemeteries of Quatre Vent and Carbaret Rouge Cemetery where Sussex New Brunswick soldier were buried, to Arromanches and Point de Hoc and Brugge, Belgium and Reuen and Honfleur France. The extra really enhanced the tour. Mouna was awesome. Looked after all my and my travelers needs. Very friendly and courteous. Enjoyed our conversations on the phone. Amazing tour!!
    Huggybear / Group leader
    Picadilly, New Brunswick / Posted on March 27, 2017
  10. Overall Expectations

    Terrible vegetarian options, which made it hard to enjoy dinner with everyone. Too many people in one room, so getting ready in the morning/night was very difficult. Enjoyed seeing the different sites and learning about the different history. Would prefer letting students chose from a few different options for dinner, fewer people in one room, better service in general. And have a flight booked properly and amke sure that it is not overbooked. Rating: 6 out of 10 stars overall.
    Mipa / Student traveller
    Ontario / Posted on March 20, 2017

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?